Google has announced that it will be rolling out an update to their Google Photos app for Android that will bring in new features.
The first feature basically allows users to downgrade already uploaded photos from Original quality to High quality settings. A photo that has been uploaded in original settings is uncompressed and is uploaded as it is but will count towards a user’s storage limit. High quality photo setting basically is a compressed version of the original photo and it doesn’t take up any storage of the user online.
The second feature allows users to free up space on their device by deleting un-necessary photos. Within the settings screen, they will be able to see a “Free up space” button which will prompt users to delete photos on their device of which a backup has already been made online. It also asks you to confirm a second time to prevent accidental deletion. This feature now also works for high quality photos and not just original quality photos.
The update also fixes an issue that Photos has with phones with SD cards. Previously, some photos still showed up after a user had deleted them from the SD card. This fix, solves that issue and is able to delete it properly.