Google renames Hindi Keyboard to Indic Keyboard, adds support for 10 Indian languages

Google has renamed the Hindi Keyboard as Indic Keyboard and added support for 10 more Indian languages in the latest update.

Google Indic keyboard

The Hindi keyboard is being rebranded as the Indic Keyboard as it no longer supports only Hindi to English translation. With the latest update, the keyboard now gets support for Assamese, Bengali, Gujurati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Punjabi, Tamil, and Telugu. You can install and use Google Indic Keyboard to input your language. The Indic keyboard supports different modes of input like transliteration mode, which offers output in native language by spelling out the pronunciation using English letters and native mode will let you type in the native script. In addition, there is handwriting mode which is currently available for Hindi only and it lets you write directly on your phone screen.

The latest update improves suggestions in both transliteration mode and native keyboard mode in Hindi while there is a refreshed UI that allows you to switch input modes.

Play Link – Google Indic keyboard

Author: Sneha Bokil

Sneha Bokil is a tech enthusiast and is currently using OnePlus 3T but she still treasures her Nokia N70 (M). You can follow her on Twitter @snehabokil and on Google+