Gmail for feature phones get 13 new languages including Nepali and Sinhala


Google has added support for 13 new languages for features phone and web, including new languages such as Nepali and Sinhala. Last year Gmail got support for 6 Indian languages including Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, and Telugu.

Regarding the new language, Google on their official Gmail blog, said

Gmail is already available in 58 languages, and today we’re bringing that total to 71 – covering 94 percent of the world’s Internet population and bringing us closer to our goal of making sure that, no matter what language you write in, you can use it in Gmail. As any native speaker knows, each language has its own nuances, so we worked closely with linguists to make sure the tone and style are just right.

These 13 new languages include

  • Afrikaans
  • Armenian
  • Azerbaijani (Azeri)
  • Chinese (Hong Kong)
  • French (Canada)
  • Galician
  • Georgian
  • Khmer
  • Lao
  • Mongolian
  • Nepali
  • Sinhala
  • Zulu

You can change the language from the settings both on the web and mobile web.

Author: Srivatsan Sridhar

Srivatsan Sridhar is a Mobile Technology Enthusiast who is passionate about Mobile phones and Mobile apps. He uses the phones he reviews as his main phone. You can follow him on Twitter and Instagram