Periscope has updated its mobile apps with a handy feature that brings it closer to Facebook Live. The streaming service is adding the ability for users to save their Periscopes forever.
Prior to the update, you could save your streams for only 24 hours. The new feature is currently open in beta and is available for anyone to try it out. In order to save your stream, you will have add a #save hashtag to the title. CEO Kayvon Beykpour said that the #save in broadcast title will disappear once the feature exits beta. Saved videos will appear in a user’s profile, amidst more recent clips.
Broadcast links shared externally on Twitter will also stay active permanently. To use the feature, you would have to join the Periscope Beta programme. The new feature works on Periscope apps for Android and iOS.
Periscope spokesperson in the live feed,
We are actively building support for how your broadcasts stay on Periscope, and that includes keeping those broadcasts forever. That also includes capability for some people who want their broadcasts to be deleted more quickly.”