It looks like soon you will be able to unsend a message you might have accidently sent to a person on WhatsApp. The Facebook owned messaging app is finally testing a feature that will let you recall a message after it is sent, according to WABetaInfo. Dubbed as ‘Delete for Everyone’, the feature will allow you to quickly delete messages before the receiver has had a chance to read them.
DELETE FOR EVERYONE NEWS!— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) September 12, 2017
[AVAILABLE SOON!] pic.twitter.com/GQ6eqbNvSn
Users will be able to recall or unsend texts, images, videos, GIFs, documents, quoted messages and even status replies within a five-minute window, as per The Independent report. Moreover, the recalled texts will also disappear from the Notification Center. The recalled message will be displayed as, “This message was deleted.” The Delete for Everyone feature is currently being tested on Android and iOS devices. It is still being tested, and will be remotely activated for everyone later.
WhatsApp for Android: when the sender deletes the message for everyone, it will be updated in the Notification Center too [AVAILABLE SOON] pic.twitter.com/69fFUrXl35— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) September 12, 2017
WhatsApp is actually late to this party, as rival Telegram already had support for this feature. It is unclear at the moment, when WhatsApp will roll out this feature for all users. WhatsApp crossed 1 billion daily active user milestone in July this year. Earlier this month, WhatsApp announced that it its testing new tools through a closed pilot program that will allow people to communicate with the businesses they want to reach on WhatsApp. Earlier today, WhatsApp co-founder Brian Acton is leaving the company to start a new organization.